Cinnamon Sugar Cream Scones

IMG_2684
It’s Friday.  On Fridays, I have only two jobs:  keep the baby alive, and clean the house.  Today I’m hoping for a 50% success rate. Don’t be alarmed, the baby will be fine.  I just don’t want to clean the house! In fact, I don’t really want to do much of anything.  Except bake.  And eat baked goods.  It’s almost like I’m pregnant again.  But I’m not.  I’M NOT. It’s just that when I have things to do that are reasonably important – like cleaning the house – I can always think of a half a billion other things (most of them baked goods) that I would rather spend my time and attention on right at this moment. It’s a special gift of mine.

So, these cream scones come to you by way of the extra cup of cream languishing in my fridge that was crying out to be used, and the evil little friend I like to call Procrastination.  Oh, and don’t tell my husband I made these.  Not that he’ll care that I wasn’t cleaning the house, but he will care that I ate them all before he came home.

One year ago on C&T: Chocolate Banana Cake with Pretzel Streusel

Two years ago on C&T: I had a baby.

Three years ago on C&T: Triple Chocolate Cookie Brittle and PBJ & O Bars

Four years ago on C&T: Mint Infused Simple Syrup and Caramelized White Chocolate
IMG_2675

Cinnamon Sugar Cream Scones

These scones are light and buttery and have layers of cinnamon sugar flavor, perfect with a cup of tea or coffee. Or just snarfed up right off the hot baking sheet.

Base scone recipe from  Smitten Kitchen, here.

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 Tbsp baking soda
  • 3 Tbsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 5 Tbsp butter, chilled and cut into pieces
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • cinnamon sugar mix (I used 1/3 cup sugar plus 1 tsp cinnamon)

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Place flour, soda, sugar, and salt in the bowl of a food processor.  Pulse until dry ingredients are mixed.  Add butter and process until the mixture is crumbly and the butter is well distributed.  Add cream about 1/3 at a time, mixing after each addition just until incorporated.  Dough will be a big ragged mess.  Dump all of it out onto a silpat mat or piece of parchment paper and lightly knead until it comes together – don’t overwork it!  Pat out flat, about a half inch thick.  Cover with a liberal amount of cinnamon sugar mix.  Carefully roll up from one side like you would a cinnamon roll.  Press down on the roll again to flatten it back out to about an inch thick.  Use a fluted round cutter to cut out your scones, or cut them by hand.  Sprinkle the tops of the scones with the remaining cinnamon sugar mixture.  Bake for 10 minutes or just until lightly browned.  Do not overbake.

Leave a Reply

