PB Chocolate Cereal Treats

I’ve been writing a lot of blog posts in the shower lately.  Well, not *literally* writing them . . . showers and computers don’t coexist peacefully, after all.  But in my head, in the shower,  post after post just comes rolling out.  It’s too bad, really.  If only I had a shower-proof computer those posts might actually see the light of day.  Why the shower?  It’s the only place where I don’t have a maniacal toddler glued to my hands wanting to practice walking, or shoving books at me for more reading, or flapping her baby sign language telling me “hungry”, “all done”, “more”, “please”, and “monkey” (her current vocabulary).

Luckily, I have a few quiet minutes to myself while daddy and monkey are at swim class this evening – and, by god, a bit of brain power to spare – so I’m posting these goodies just ONE DAY after making them.  Shocking, I know!  And a very good thing, because these are The Bomb, and you should make them post haste.

If you follow me on Instagram or Twitter (username @trufflesteph) then you know that these are the beginning of my birthday-celebration-ode-to-the-sugar-gods.  I’m turning 39 this weekend and I intend to do so on a massive sugar high.

Join me!

Two years ago on C&T: Easy Berry Crisp, Hand Pies, and Chocolate Cookie Cupcakes

Three years ago on C&T:  Spoonbread, Birthday Butter Crumb Cakes, and Blueberry Oatmeal Bars

Peanut Butter Chocolate Cereal Treats

Who doesn’t love cereal treat bars?  They are easy to make, easy to tweak, and (way too) easy to eat.  For this version I just tossed together all of my favorite things – golden grahams, peanut butter, peanuts, m&m’s.  I threw in some corn chex out of a last minute attack of virtuosity – and because I was afraid a full amount of golden grahams would make the bars too rich to handle – but I think I was wrong.  All golden grahams would be awesome.

  • 3 Tbsp butter
  • 3 Tbsp creamy peanut butter
  • 4 cups mini marshmallows
  • 2 cups golden grahams cereal
  • 2 cups corn chex cereal
  • 1 cup roasted salted peanuts
  • 1 cup m&ms candy

Melt butter, peanut butter, and marshmallows in a large pan over medium heat, stirring until smooth.  Remove from heat and mix in cereal, peanuts, and m&ms.  Using a buttered spatula, press evenly into a buttered 9×9 inch square pan and let cool until set.

One thought on “PB Chocolate Cereal Treats

Leave a Reply

