Sugar Cookie Bites with Nutella Nests

When I had my chocolate business, people would often ask me what my favorite chocolate holiday was – Christmas? Valentine’s Day?  But oddly enough, it was always Easter.  I loved making chocolate bunnies and marshmallow peeps.  I loved packaging everything up in crisp cellophane bags with brightly colored jelly beans.  And I love this time of year, when daffodils are popping up everywhere and cherry and plum trees are bursting into bloom.  Even though I know we have several more months of gloomy rainy weather to come here in the Pacific NW, those little bursts of color make it all so much more bearable.

And, did you notice?  I’ve been doing a bit of spring cleaning around the blog, too.  I finally changed up the theme to something a bit lighter and brighter – I hope you like it!  I’ve got lots of other housekeeping tasks on my list, like adding a “printable recipe” function and cleaning up the archives, but those things are going to take time.  Ahhh, time, the one thing a mom apparently never has!  I’m back to the mantra I used to use when I was a bureaucrat . . .Creeping Toward Betterness. So, I’ll just keep on with that.  Creeping.

One year ago on C&T: Quick and Easy Easter

Two years ago on C&T: Shortbread “No Bake” Bars (i.e. Yummy Bars)

Three years ago on C&T: Homemade Butter, Buttermilk Biscuits, and Easter and Passover Links

Sugar Cookie Bites with Nutella Nests

This recipe includes my usual sugar cookie dough as a base, but feel free to substitute your favorite recipe – or use store bought dough or a mix if you are short on time. Also, if you don’t like coconut, try broken up chow mein noodles for the nests – you still get the crunch factor!  I used Reeses’s mini eggs for my cookies, but any kind of mini egg will do.  A note on yield – I don’t know how many this recipe makes, but it will be a lot!  I recommend dividing the cookie dough and using half for these cookies and half for Jelly Bean Sugar Cookies, as I did.  The amounts of nutella and coconut listed in the recipe will top approximately two dozen cookies, depending on how big you make your nests. 

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1.5 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2.5 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cream of tartar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup sweetened dried coconut (or broken chow mein noodles)
  • 1 cup nutella (or similar chocolate spread)
  • mini chocolate eggs

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  In a large mixer, beat butter and powdered sugar until combined.  Add egg and vanilla and mix until combined, scraping down the sides of the bowl as necessary.  Sift or stir together flour, baking soda, and salt in a separate bowl, then add slowly to the butter/sugar mixture.  Mix until fully incorporated.  Line a mini muffin pan with mini cupcake liners, or spray with cooking spray.  Put approximately 1 tablespoon of dough into each cup.   Bake for 8 minutes, just until puffed and very light brown.  Do not overbake!  Remove from oven and allow to cool before topping with nests.

To make the nests, place nutella in a microwave safe bowl and microwave 20 seconds at a time, stirring after each, until warm.  Mix in coconut or chow mein noodles.  Working quickly, place a small mound of the mixture on top of each cooled cookie.  Top with a couple mini chocolate eggs.  Let cool until set.  Store at room temperature in an airtight container up to one week.

2 thoughts on “Sugar Cookie Bites with Nutella Nests

  1. Pingback: Jelly Bean Sugar Cookies | Chocolate & Toast

Leave a Reply

