Rocky Road Popcorn

One of my favorite snacks has always been popcorn.  Growing up, we used to have family TV nights (those were the days we didn’t watch TV constantly, remember that?) where we would gather around a big bowl of popcorn and watch the latest episode of Battlestar Gallactica.  You know, the original version.  With Dirk Benedict as Starbuck.  Dreamy.  *sigh*

In our household, the popcorn almost always came slathered in a mixture of melted butter and peanut butter.  That’s right, peanut butter popcorn.  I’ve mentioned before that my family is comprised of a number of peanut-aholics.  I believe there was some straying into the territory of taco seasoning on our popcorn in later years . . . but for me, it just didn’t stick.  I went right back to the food of the gods.

In my more weight-conscious twenties, I ditched the popcorn and most of the peanut butter snacking.  Mostly.  At least during daylight hours and when other people were around.

But now . . . now I’m older, and wiser, and pregnant, and hungry all the time, and I have to say, this snack is where it’s at!   Why stop with just peanut butter and popcorn, when there are marshmallows and peanuts and dark chocolate just lurking there in your kitchen?  Why?  WHY??

Yes, this snack was screaming out to me, and there was no ignoring it.  Quick, easy, and addictive, it hits all the necessary high points for me.  Try it, you’ll like it.  And then watch Battlestar Gallactica, you’ll like it too.  Even the new version, minus Dirk.

Two years ago on C&T:  Fresh Marshmallow

Rocky Road Popcorn

I used a snack bag size of microwave popcorn for this, but you can easily dial up the ingredients for a regular or family sized bag.  These proportions result in a treat that still primarily tastes like popcorn – if you want it to be a more decadent snack, up the chocolate to 1/2 cup (or more!) and add another tablespoon of peanut butter.  Also, unfortunately, chilling the mix in the fridge does make the popcorn a bit chewy.  If you take the time to temper your chocolate, it will set up at room temperature instead of needing to chill.  I temper chocolate for a living, but couldn’t bother to do it for this, so I leave it up to you!

  • 1 bag (100 calorie size) microwave popcorn
  • 1/3 cup semisweet chocolate (chopped or chips)
  • 2 Tbsp peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup mini marshmallows
  • 1/3 cup peanuts

Pop the popcorn and cool slightly.  Line a cookie sheet with wax paper (or a silpat mat).  Spread the popped corn out on the wax paper, making sure to remove any unpopped or burnt kernels.  Top the popcorn with the mini marshmallows, distributing them evenly.  In a small microwave bowl, heat your chocolate for 20 seconds at a time, stirring well after each interval.  Be careful not to burn it!  When the chocolate is fully melted, add the peanut butter and stir to combine.  Use a spoon to drizzle the chocolate across the popcorn/marshmallow mixture, using all of the chocolate.  Sprinkle the peanuts  over the chocolate drizzle, distributing evenly.  Place the cookie sheet in the fridge for about 5 minutes, or until chocolate is set (don’t leave the popcorn in the fridge too long, it will get really chewy!).  Serve immediately.  Makes about 4 normal, snack size servings.  Or one pregnant lady serving.

5 thoughts on “Rocky Road Popcorn

    • Thanks Shauna! I’m on a bit of a Rocky Road binge these days – and it all started with you! That Blonde Rocky Road you posted a few weeks ago has been lodged in my brain. My next post is going to be a mashup of inspiration from you and David Lebovitz. Culinary nirvana, I tell you.

  1. love the blog! I recently just started one of my own 🙂 Saw this post and had to comment, my favorite studying snack through college was pop corn with peanut butter M&Ms shaken around in the bag. So good. I love this take on adding chocolate into popcorn. I’m inspired to make some toffee covered popcorn with almonds and chocolate too. So many things you can do with popcorn! Thanks for posting!

  2. Pingback: Rocky Road Recipes – Bites From Other Blogs

Leave a Reply

