Cinnamon Marshmallows

Cinnamon Marshamallows, Chocolate Dipped Cinnamon Marshmallows, and Cinnamon Rice Crispy Treats

 

Disclosure: I do not like the above photo.  It is too dark.  The backdrop is awful.  And I don’t know what possessed me to write “eat me” on a dipped marshmallow.  Also, you should know that I actually do like the taste of those little conversation hearts.  And I already ate all of them.

Thanks for listening.

I had planned to post a recipe for Chocolate Shortbread Hearts with Cherry Icing this weekend.  And this post about Cinnamon Marshmallows was going to be posted last week.  But then I made the shortbread cookie dough and put it in the fridge . . . and then I ate some of it (no raw eggs, yay!).  And then I forgot to bake it the next day, so I took it to work with me the following day.  And ate some more of it.  No baking.  And then I was busy, and there wasn’t so much dough left, and then there wasn’t any dough left, and now here we are.

I don’t think pregnancy is adding to the quality of my blog posting.

So here we are, Valentine’s Day is upon us, and all I have for you is a link back to a previous recipe, with a tweak and a couple notes.  Sigh.  The romance is gone, my friends.  Apparently when it comes down to a choice between my blog readers and a cookie dough snack, the cookie dough wins.

Forgive me.

One year ago on C&T:  Chocolate Peanut Butter Banana Muffins and Olympic Nanaimo Bars

Cinnamon Marshmallows

Check out my previous recipe for vanilla Marshmallows here.  Omit the vanilla, and mix in 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon oil and a few drops pink food coloring, if you want the pink look.  You can find cinnamon oil at specialty food and craft stores, and also order it online here.  I highly recommend it, as it gives a brighter, richer taste to your confections.  However, you can certainly use dried cinnamon if that’s what you have – start with 1 teaspoon and add to your personal taste. 

Your finished marshmallows can be eaten straight, or dunked in cocoa, or cut into heart shapes and dipped in chocolate, or skewered on a lollipop stick and dipped in chocolate and sprinkles . . . or melted into rice crispy treats and cut into heart shapes!  All great fun for Valentine’s Day.  Or, you know, any day you want. 

2 thoughts on “Cinnamon Marshmallows

Leave a Reply

