Chocolate Crinkle Cookies

This post was supposed to go up last Sunday. It would have happened – but I’ve been in a funk. Apparently funk-itude does not encourage posting about cookies . . . even cookies this good.

So. I am not one who would normally air my dirty laundry. But I’m going to. I need to get the stink out.


Last week, I received an email. It was from the president of a marketing company based in California. The email said “go ahead and send me to collections, I could care less.” I kid you not.

But let me back up. It started last October (yes, four months ago), when said company placed an order from my business for custom chocolates with the Lexus logo on them, for a client who was putting on an event. Just one of many orders I get all the time, nothing particularly special about it. The chocolates were made and shipped. The client loved them. The rep from the marketing company loved them, and was already talking about working on other deals with other Lexus clients. Everyone was happy. (and the happiness was well documented in emails)

And then the president got involved.

The president of the company. Presumably a man who is educated, intelligent and successful. (I now have multiple emails suggesting that is not the case).

Bottom line, they did not pay their bill. After multiple opportunities to do so, and many attempts on my part to resolve the situation. Never in the seven years I’ve been in business have I had to work this hard to get a payment. Not once. Finally, reaching the three month mark, I notified them last week that I would be sending their account to collections. Which is when I got the above email. Which is funny, because the first part of the email said that the check was in the mail (and a digital copy was attached). So really, the “I could care less” was completely unnecessary – and apparently untrue.

My point? Shocking, but true – even presidents of companies can be graceless, arrogant, and unprofessional.

My more important point? Any of you out there who work with marketing companies – whether as a vendor or a client – might want to be wary of the canary. I certainly won’t ever work with them again.

Phew. Who wants cookies?? I DO.

Let’s talk Crinkles. Or Crackles. Whatever you want to call them, you can find recipes for them under either name. And they are dee-licious. I first fell in love with these cookies when I moved to Portland fifteen years ago – they seemed to be at every bakery and coffee shop. I don’t see them as often anymore – which is actually good, because I personally think the quality was going downhill as they became more popular. There’s nothing worse than biting into a Crinkle that has a dry texture and a blah flavor. What a waste!

Years ago I had a great recipe for crinkles, but when I went looking for it recently it was nowhere to be found. Which was fine, because I was ready to try out a new version, just for fun. And oh my, it was fun indeed!

What I ended up with was a mashup of the two most common versions of the crinkle/crackle recipes that I could find. Some use vegetable oil and cocoa powder, while others use butter and melted chocolate. I went with the vegetable oil version – which gives a moister center to the cookie – and a mix of cocoa powder and melted chocolate, to give it both a dark chocolate color and the boldest chocolate taste. I also used almond milk for more depth of flavor, but you could use plain old cows milk with no problem. Or try one of the variations suggested below. I cut back the eggs from 4 to 2, aiming for a fudgey texture rather than cakey. Finally, I used a tip recommended in the Martha recipe (of course) for rolling the dough in granulated sugar before the powdered sugar, which allows the powdered sugar to coat the cookie more easily.

What I didn’t tell my cookie tasters was that I used white whole wheat flour (1 cup) instead of all purpose flour. You would never know the difference! But the recipe below lists all purpose, since I don’t want to scare anyone off.

Chocolate Crinkle Cookies

Variations: these cookies work well with almost any variation. Using butter instead of oil will give you a flatter and richer tasting cookie. Or use half peanut butter and half butter for a Chocolate Peanut Butter Crinkle. Alternatively, replace part or all of the milk with another liquid such as prepared chai tea or espresso, or a liqueur such as Baileys, Kahlua, etc. Or, for the simplest change, swap out the vanilla extract for mint, almond, rum, cherry or the extract of your choice. Just make sure to use a good quality chocolate, because the flavor will definitely shine through.

  • 8 ounces bittersweet chocolate, melted and cooled (I used Callebaut semisweet)
  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened Dutch process cocoa powder
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 1/2 cups light-brown sugar, firmly packed
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup milk (I used almond milk)
  • 1 cup granulated sugar (for rolling)
  • 1 cup confectioners’ sugar (for rolling)

In a bowl, mix together flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, and salt. Stir to combine. In a mixing bowl, blend together vegetable oil and brown sugar until combined. (If using butter, cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy). Add eggs and vanilla, mixing well. Blend in the melted and cooled chocolate. Alternately add the flour mixture and the milk, about 1/3 at a time, mixing just to combine. Press the dough into a ball at the bottom of the mixer bowl (or transfer to another container) and press plastic wrap firmly onto the surface. Refrigerate at least two hours or overnight.

To bake cookies, preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line your cookie sheets with parchment or a silpat mat. Pour your granulated sugar and powdered sugar into separate shallow bowls next to the cookie sheets. Use an ice cream scoop to portion out balls of the dough, setting them to the side until you’ve portioned all the dough. Quickly roll each piece of dough between your palms to smooth it out. One by one, roll the dough balls in the granulated sugar and then in the powdered sugar, coating thickly. Place on cookie sheet, spacing five inches apart. Bake 14 to 16 minutes (less for smaller cookies), just until set. Cool 10 minutes before removing from cookie sheet. Store in an airtight container three days or in the freezer for three months. Makes 18 to 20 large cookies, depending on your scoop size.

4 thoughts on “Chocolate Crinkle Cookies

  1. I’m so sorry you’ve had to go through all this muck ~ with someone that reveals themselves as less than professional. The cookies look and sound delish! I will definitely be trying them.

    Hope next week is much better for you!

  2. Oh boy, these cookies have always been one of my favorites. You have some great tips too and they apparently worked because the cookies look delicious. I’m starting a new linky on my blog this Saturday called “Sweets for a Saturday” and I’d like to invite you to stop by if you have a chance and link these up.

  3. They suck and so does their stupid yellow web site that is Flash-driven and therefore unusable by iPhone users. What kind of marketing company is THAT? 🙂

Leave a Reply

