Cheddar Bay Biscuits

If you’re one of those people who does that January thing that involves resolutions and dieting and exercising and giving up sugar and attempting to find a healthier you to start the year . . . well, good for you!  But you might want to leave now and not visit again until you’re feeling less . . . resolved.  Don’t let me be your undoing.

There now.  For the rest of you, please join me as I continue the feasting and the festing and the full fat full sugar excess of the previous few months!  I’m pregnant.  I can’t help myself!

That’s a lie.  I was doing the same thing last year when I wasn’t pregnant.

Whatever.  Let’s eat biscuits.  Buttery, cheddary, so yummy you’re still thinking about them 15 years later biscuits!  It’s true, I last visited a Red Lobster around 15 years ago, and I’m still hankering for those biscuits.  I’m generally not much of a chain restaurant kind of gal – not for any condescending reasons, mind you – but because Portland is such a great foodie town, and I happen to live in a neighborhood that has amazing local restaurants – lots of them – within blocks of my home.  It would require actual effort for me to visit a chain restaurant – and in the case of Red Lobster, a long drive – so I just don’t.

Instead, I’m bringing Red Lobster to me!  You’d think I would have done this years ago, since I’ve been thinking about those biscuits all this time.  But something happened to me last week – possibly involving pregnancy hormones and one too many commercials featuring these bundles of joy – and here we are.  I started chanting “cheddar bay” and sent my poor husband to the store in search of Bisquick baking mix, I’m sure he thought I was completely off my rocker.  Actually, he admitted as much.  Having never been to Red Lobster, “cheddar bay” meant nothing to him.

He is now a convert.  He snarfed down four biscuits immediately after they were baked last night, and then two more “for dessert” after we ate dinner.  Don’t tell him I ratted him out.

Whether you are a “cheddar bay” chanter or not, make these biscuits.  You won’t be sorry.  Although your thighs may still hate me.

And on another note entirely – GO DUCKS!

Cheddar Bay Biscuits a la Red Lobster

I did a bunch of searching around “the nets” for recipes – obviously, the real McCoy is secret.  The one I landed on was from here, a news report oddly enough, and was unique in that it included the addition of butter to the biscuit dough.  Butter, of course!!  While there is shortening in baking mix, and you can in fact make biscuits just with the mix and milk, the additional butter – and the full heaping cup of cheddar – really make the difference in getting the right texture and richness for these babies.  The original recipe also calls for whole milk, but I used 1 percent since that’s what I had, and I think the biscuits were just perfect.

For the biscuits:

  • 2-1/2 cups Bisquick baking mix
  • 4 Tbsp butter
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 heaping cup grated cheddar cheese
  • 3/4 cup milk

For the topping:

  • 2 Tbsp butter, melted
  • 1/2 tsp each dried parsley and garlic powder
  • pinch salt

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.  In a bowl, mix together baking mix and 4 tablespoons butter with your hands or a fork, just until the largest pieces of butter are about the size of small peas.  Add garlic powder and cheddar cheese and mix to distribute.  Add milk and mix lightly until just combined.  Do not over mix!  Use an ice cream scoop or a 1/4 cup measure to portion out your biscuits onto an ungreased cookie sheet (I used a silpat mat on a cookie sheet).  Bake at 400 degrees about 12 to 14 minutes, just until lightly browned all over.  Do not overbake or your biscuits will be dry.  Mix the 2 tablespoons melted butter with the parsley, garlic powder and salt; brush over the tops of the hot biscuits, using all the butter.  Serve immediately!  Makes about 12 biscuits.  These are best eaten the day they are made.

4 thoughts on “Cheddar Bay Biscuits

    • Pat, I am a loser of recipes, and in fact I started this blog as a way to keep track of my favorites, if nothing else. Happy I could help you, too!

  1. After all those chocolates and other goodies a good old baking powder buttermilk biscuit makes my mouth water! Thanks for a great idea.
    Between 6 and 8:30 pm we have been blanketed with a couple inches of snow, pretty! I can’t tell if it will continue or turn into rain. Jeff Renner has been a little (or a lot) off re the snowfall this week.

    • Hi Barbie! We missed the snow entirely here, just freezing rain, ick! I’m with you, I like a little savory after all the sweet.

Leave a Reply

