Caramel Cheesecake Pastries

WELL.  It has been one heck of a year, don’t you think?  I have to say, 2010 really kicked me right in the pants.  In a good way.  In the best way, in fact.  But I’ll come back to that in a minute, because I much prefer to bury the lead (is it lede, really?) when possible.

Ahem.  So, let’s do a few fun facts, shall we?  We shall.  Because I’m sitting in a recliner, wrapped up in a blankie, watching football, and would you believe I have an entire afternoon and evening ahead of me with nary an obligation in sight?  I can’t believe it either.

Fun Fact #1:   a total of 44 posts were added to this blog in 2010.

That’s about 1/2 of what I was planning on (okay, hoping for).  But I know you’ll forgive me when I get back to the whole “kicked in the pants” thing.  I will get back to that.  In about 5 more paragraphs.

Fun Fact #2:  the top viewed post on the blog is Chocolate Modeling Clay, Pt. 3!

I hope you’re reading parts one and two, as well.

Fun Fact #3:   my readers like to read but not comment.

Over 23,000 views, but just short of 200 comments, total?  *tap tap* Is this thing on?

Fun Fact #4:   you people are looking for some crazy &*%# stuff out there.

Here are some of my favorite search terms from the last year that brought people to this blog:

  • tights on fire oven
  • crazy simple syrup
  • cut a potato sprained ankle
  • spinach roasted paper
  • mojito the cat
  • buffalo chocolate
  • moldy quiche
  • i am not a saint
  • people find brain

Let me just say, I am not a saint either but I’m grateful to the people who found my brain in their tights on fire oven where I was hiding with mojito the cat while eating a moldy quiche and some buffalo chocolate. I don’t know what to say about the spinach roasted paper, that may have happened before my brain was found, but I’m sure a dose of crazy simple syrup will fix everything, or at least do a better job than a cut potato on a sprained ankle.

And, I demand an explanation.

Fun fact #5: I’m looking forward to more crazy fun times with this blog in 2011, and I hope you are too.

I can’t promise to post a lot more, but post I will!  I have a whole list of things that MUST be added here, if only because I want to keep track of them for myself.  Like family recipes:  my mom’s chocolate chip cookies, my stepmom’s crab dip, rogue cheese ball, marinated onions & mushrooms, and marinated chuck steak.  My dad’s peanut butter popcorn, although I’m not sure that qualifies as a “recipe”.  My grandmother’s sunday upside down chocolate pudding cake (that name is surely of my own jumbling).  And my own favorites, like chocolate filled monkey bread and apple topped dutch babies.  And the gourmet rice krispy treats (layered with chocolate ganache and drizzled with chocolate) that I created when I first started my business.

You see, I’m feeling a bit nostalgic.  Maybe because of the holidays, or because of missing my grandmother.

Or it could be because I’m PREGNANT and HORMONAL.

That would be the kicked in the pants part, in case you didn’t catch on.  And my third big announcement, finally.

What, no comment?!?

One year ago on C & T:  Ham & Gruyere Bread Pudding

Caramel Cheesecake Pastries

Simple, decadent and OMG good, you really should make these.  For New Year’s breakfast.  Which means you need to get going, right now!

  • one sheet frozen puff pastry, thawed and unfolded
  • 1/2 cup walnuts, toasted and chopped – divided
  • 8oz package cream cheese
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 2 Tbsp butter
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup sweetened dried cranberries

Dice butter and distribute evenly on the bottom of 9″ cake pan or a deep pie plate.  Sprinkle the brown sugar over the top of the butter, along with about half of the chopped walnuts.  To cream cheese, add 1/3 cup sugar and egg, mix well.  Stir in remaining walnuts and all of the cranberries.  Spread the cream cheese mixture across the puff pastry sheet, leaving a small border at each edge. Carefully roll up the pastry sheet, starting on the long end.  Slice the roll into 8 pieces and arrange in pan on top of butter/sugar.  Cover tightly with plastic wrap and refrigerate overnight.  Or, proceed straight to baking – but reduce the baking time by 10 to 15 minutes, watching carefully to prevent burning.  Bake at 400 degrees for approx 35 minutes, until completely golden brown and crispy to touch.  Cool 5 minutes, invert on to plate.

9 thoughts on “Caramel Cheesecake Pastries

  1. This is the best news, Stephanie! And, thanks for the recipe. I actually have all the ingredients at home this evening. Look forward to more food and now moma-to-be posts!

  2. Ha, congratulations, that’s great! And since I’ve never left a comment before, please know I love your blog and recipes – thanks for posting, no matter the frequency!

    • Thanks for being a reader – and thanks for commenting, Kristin! I have high hopes for more posting this year. At least until the baby takes over. 😉

  3. YAAAY! Congratulations! That’s amazing!

    Haha your searches cracked me up! I don’t get any that crazy!

    As for the commenting, I’ve been a slacker lately. I’m horrible.

    I don’t know if I can have these pastries around… they look too good. I wouldn’t be able to stop myself.

    • Thanks Emily! I’ve been a comment slacker lately too, but I’m catching up now. Your posts have been amazing! I made your Mexican Milk Chocolate Cake over the weekend, to rave reviews. Yummy!

Leave a Reply

