Bring on Fall

So.  Summer is over, even though I feel like it never quite showed up here in Portland.  What’s the first rule of doing anything well?  Show up.  Bad job, summer.  You’re fired.  We’re moving on to Fall.

Luckily, fall has all of my favorite things – cool, crisp air, college football on TV, beer (okay, that’s all year long, but still) – and Labor Day weekend is just the beginning of all of it.  Happiness, all wrapped up with an autumn-colored bow.

Since the sun was out (finally) I spent a bit of time in my neglected garden – and came back out with the haul pictured above:  tomatillos, roma tomatoes, sun gold cherry tomatoes, a couple small piquillo peppers, the last few raspberries, a big old bowl full of huckleberries (yes, huckleberries!) and a large bunch of basil.  The basil has already been whipped into pesto, spooned into muffin cups and is now chilling out in the freezer.  I’ll toss the frozen portions in to a ziploc bag and pull them out over the winter for pastas, pizza, and of course some palmiers.

The tomatoes and tomatillos are headed for salsa, as soon as I’ve got some tortilla chips for munching.  The raspberries will be tossed together with blueberries and huckleberries(!) into yet another berry crisp.  And the rest of those huckleberries will likely end up in cookies–shortbread, bars, I just don’t know yet!  But I’ll share, once I figure it out.

And there you have it.  My Labor Day weekend consists of beer, football, and a bit of cooking.  And then I’ll be back at work on Monday, because chocolate doesn’t take a holiday.

What are you doing this weekend?

One year ago on C&T:  Gazpacho – The Lazy Way

2 thoughts on “Bring on Fall

  1. Great looking bushel!

    It is a shame that summer is pretty much wrapped up. Here in Southern Cal we may have another couple weeks … although I really dig the fall months for all of the obvious reasons – pumpkin pies, stews, braises, cinnamon and nutmeg which appear everywhere. All of that stuff!

  2. I picked a bunch of huckleberries in Montana in August and still have a bunch in the freezer waiting to be made into something. Looking forward to what you do with yours! I made scones with some this morning..MmmmMMmmm

Leave a Reply

