Sour Cream Blueberry Scones

I know I’ve been a broken record about this “weather” thing – but, seriously, I can’t help myself.  I know that a bunch of you all are living in places that are suffering heat waves and record setting temperatures and such . . . but honestly, it’s hard to wrap my brain around, considering that I’m STILL WAITING FOR SUMMER TO START.  I went for a jog the other morning and it might as well have been October, for all the gray skies and the wearing of long sleeves and pants.  And don’t even get me started on my garden.  My poor, sad, garden.

Over the last couple years, I’ve actually been dialing back on what I plant in my garden – because I’ve been so overwhelmed by the bushels of tomatoes and bags full of basil that were coming out of it.  This year?  Meh.  I’ve had three cherry tomatoes and a handful of basil so far.  One pepper plant is trying desperately to birth a baby pepper, but I’m not sure it’s going to make it to full term.  One of the tomato plants which didn’t appear to be growing at all just sent up one very tall shoot, as if in a last gasp of hopefulness.  Never mind that it’s August and there isn’t a green tomato to be seen on the entire (sad and small) plant.

The bright spot in all this sadness?  Blueberries!!  We have a total of five blueberry bushes in our back yard – two that I planted five or six years ago that have generally given off a miserly crop, and three more of a different variety that I planted two years ago and which are just producing their first (bountiful!  amazing!) crop.  The older two bushes kicked off the season early in June, with the most amazing bounty I’ve ever seen from those plants – and now the newbies are upping the ante with extra-large, super sweet berries dripping from every branch.  I’ve had so many blueberries coming out of my yard that . . . I can’t believe I’m admitting this . . . some almost went to waste while lingering in my fridge too long.

To avoid that horrific fate, I’ve been pulling out every blueberry recipe in my arsenal (listed below!) and making several of them many times over.  I managed to eat an entire crisp by myself in two short days when my husband forgot it was there (please don’t tell him).  One of my favorites, though, are these scones.  Tender, flaky, buttery, and easy to throw together, and of course part of my favorite food group (“SuBuFlr” – or sugar, butter, flour, to you).

One year ago on C & T: Pesto Topped Tomatoes and Leek and Mushroom Tart

Other blueberry recipes on C & T:

Sour Cream Blueberry Scones

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 6 oz butter, cold and cut into pieces
  • 1/3 cup sour cream
  • 1/3 cup buttermilk
  • 1/2 cup blueberries (fresh or frozen, not thawed)
  • sugar for topping

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Combine the dry ingredients in a food processor and pulse once or twice to mix.  Add the butter and pulse until it is evenly distributed and with no large pieces remaining.  Add the sour cream, buttermilk, and blueberries, and pulse just until the dough comes together.  Turn out onto a silpat mat or parchment paper and press together into one large round.  Press the round out until it is 1 to 1.5 inches thick, depending on your preference.  To make classic triangle shaped scones, form the dough into a square shape, cut into quarters, and cut each quarter diagonally in half.  For round scones, use a round cutter to cut shapes, pressing the scraps together and cutting again until you’ve used all the dough.  Place on a baking sheet and sprinkle liberally with sugar.  Bake at 425 12-15 minutes, until beautifully golden brown.  Makes about 6 three inch diameter scones.

One thought on “Sour Cream Blueberry Scones

Leave a Reply

