PBJ & O Bars – And, The Winna!

First, a little business.  The winner of the Choco-Case and Chocolate Giveaway, according to the True Random Number Generator over at http://www.random.org, is . . . .drum roll please . . . commenter number three, Jo B!  Here’s Jo’s comment:

    I love Jamie Olivers new app for recipes, really handy way to view and do them, what a fab case, will make me hungry, oh and chococolate too, drooling now.

I’ll be contacting Jo shortly to make arrangements for transfer of the goods.  Thanks for playing!

Now, on to some more sweet stuff – actual new recipes!  Woot!  I’ve got a few stacked up and waiting for you, and (cross fingers knock wood evil eye to the sky) should be able to get back into a more regular posting routine.  Or something like that.

First up, some delicious cookie bars with a bit of nostalgia, at least for me.  Summer has finally shown up – at least for the moment – here in the Pacific Northwest . . . although recent headlines (like this beastly one) would suggest we’re not done with the ick.

But putting the ick aside for a moment, I’m reveling in the warmth of the sun, and even the difference in the evening breeze.  I had a moment the other night when a bit of warm wind brought on a sense of  nostalgia so strongly, it was almost like walking into a dream – a memory of a warm summer evening, being a kid and feeling the freedom, absolute freedom of summer upon me.  No alarms, no school, nothing that had to be done for weeks and weeks.  It actually stopped me in my tracks, remembering that feeling.

And then the car behind me honked.  Green light, ya know.

These cookies remind me of a lot of childhood summers, when I would bake up just about any sweet treat I could, and especially, most especially, things with peanut butter.  I started making oatmeal cookies and bars later, as an adult (you know, because they are healthier), and often put berries on top of them.  It only just occurred to me recently that oatmeal cookies and pb&j are perfect playing partners, so here we are!

When you bake up your bars, do me a favor and trim off a bit of the edge all the way around, and toss those scraps in a ziploc in the freezer.  Really, you will thank me later!  As in, right after I post my next recipe!

One year ago on C&T:  Mint Infused Simple Syrup (and my mint plant this year is currently only 3 stems, thanks Mother Nature!)

PBJ & O Cookie Bars

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1-1/2 cups rolled oats
  • 8 oz jelly or jam (or fresh fruit)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line an 8 x 8 inch square pan with foil and spray with baking spray.  In a medium mixer bowl, cream butter, peanut butter and sugar. Mix in egg.  Add baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, vanilla, and salt, and mix well.  Stir in flour and oats. Press 2/3 of the mixture into the prepared pan in an even layer.  Top with jelly, jam, or fruit.  Sprinkle the remaining oat mixture over the top, leaving gaps of jelly showing.  Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until the top layer is browned and a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.  Makes approximately 16 bars.

Leave a Reply

