Triple Chocolate Cookie Brittle

So I’ve been thinking a lot lately about addictive behaviors.  My own, that is.  I live in the Pacific Northwest, also known as the land of coffee on every corner and micro-breweries in every neighborhood.  And I own a chocolate business.  Coffee, beer, chocolate – the perfect trifecta, if you ask me.  And all very addiction worthy.


Around the start of the year, I decided to make a few changes in my life.  The first one was to reduce my alcohol intake, by not drinking during the week.  Um, yeah, that one didn’t take.  The second one was to cut out caffeine, switching to decaf coffee only, and less of it.

There was crankiness, people.  There was some seriously bad attitude, and there were a number of painful mornings.  And afternoons.  Two or three weeks worth.  But I am now looking back from the other side, and the view is pretty darn good!  I still drink decaf, but I could easily go without coffee and not notice.  The down side (of course there is one) is that I feel a bit less productive.  I don’t get the adrenaline rush that I used to, where I felt like I could lift a small car with one hand – or (gasp) make business related cold calls without fainting.  The up side (there are several!) is that I don’t start my day by staggering around in a coma fumbling for the coffee pot.  And get this – I sweat less.  For real.  I thought I was an abnormally sweaty person, but it turns out it was the caffeine!  That right there may be enough for me to stay off the stuff forever.  Maybe.

At any rate, I figure one out of three ain’t bad.  So don’t even think about asking me to drop the chocolate habit.  It just ain’t happenin’.

Now, the kicker to all of this is that these cookies right here, the ones I’m actually posting about?  They are majorly addictive.  My husband ate a pound of them in one sitting.  A full pound.

Consider yourself warned – make these and you will be adding to your addictions.

One year ago on C&T:  Beer Can Chicken

UPDATE:  In my haste to post these, I forgot a few details!  These are crispy, crunnnnchy, buttery cookies.  “Brittle” is exactly the right term.  If yours aren’t crunchy, you probably didn’t spread them out quite thin enough.  Don’t be afraid if they look like a bubbly mess in the oven!  They’ll set up just fine.  Also, if you are feeling sassy, throw in a dash of cinnamon for a little mexican twist.  Or, if you like the sweet/savory thing, sprinkle some sea salt over the top before baking.  Oh, and NUTS!  There were cashews in the original recipe (1 cup toasted and chopped), but you could do pecans or almonds or peanuts, yum. You really can’t go wrong.  And once you see how quick and easy these are, and how smashingly snack-o-licious the results are – SNAP – you’ll be addicted.  Snack on, people.

UPDATE #2:  another excellent option for those of you who love the yin/yang of sweet and salty – leave off the chocolate chip frosting and sprinkle some fleur de sel on top of the cookies after taking them out of the oven.  Or keep the frosting and sprinkle fleur de sel on it once it has cooled a bit.

Triple Chocolate Cookie Brittle (adapted from Piece of Cake blog, click here for her recipe which was for a standard chocolate chip version, which I also made and which are equally delicious and addictive!)

  • 1 cup butter, melted and cooled
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1-1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
  • additional chocolate chips for frosting (approx 1 cup)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  In a medium bowl, stir together all ingredients except chocolate chips until well blended.  Stir in one cup chocolate chips.  Spread into a thin layer on a silpat or parchment lined baking sheet – about the thickness of one chocolate chip.  Smush the edges inward a bit to make them slightly thicker–they will brown the fastest.  If your dough feels very soft, you may want to chill it in the freezer for 5 to 10 minutes prior to baking.  Bake for 20-25 minutes, until set in the middle and browned on the edges.  Remove from oven, immediately sprinkle remaining chocolate chips over the top and allow to sit until melted, just a couple minutes.  Use a spatula or knife to spread the melted chocolate chips evenly over the cookie.  Cool completely and break into pieces small enough to stuff in your mouth.  Store in an airtight container, if you have the kind of willpower that allows you to have any cookies left to store.  Lucky you.

5 thoughts on “Triple Chocolate Cookie Brittle

  1. These looks great! But I wonder, what’s the texture/taste like? Crisp and crunchy? Super chocolately?

    Let me know, thanks 🙂

    • super chocolatey, crisp and crunchy! and buttery! the thinner you spread the dough, the crisper/crunchier it will be. they are also really good without the extra frosting step.

Leave a Reply

