Cocktails in Paradise

So, I’m in Kahana, Maui right now.  Did I mention that?  Yes, yes I did.  Somewhere after the download on the family trip to San Diego, and right before the little evidentiary post regarding a soccer outing in Vegas.  I know, because I received hate mail.  Not from you, lovely blog readers.  From my good friends.  Haters, one and all.

I kid.  Mostly.

So I’m here in Maui, and I’m drinking me some cocktails, and it seemed only right and fitting to share some liquid happiness–in the form of recipes–with you all.  I’m not normally one for the fruity and froofy things, but I gotta say, when the sun is blazing and the skin is burning and the waves are crashing nearby, and the fruit is super fresh, and your husband is mixing them up and handing them to you . . . well, then these little beauties taste alllllll riiiight.

Also, you should know that my hair looks really good in a tropical climate.  A little wavy and with good body.  And I don’t have to use a hair dryer at all.

Those are my very important updates.  For now.

One year ago on C & T:  Bacon Kale Mushroom Quiche

409 Mai Tai (Named for the condo that we stay in every time we head to Maui.  Super yum.)

In a cocktail shaker 1/2 filled with ice:

  • 2 oz light rum
  • 1 oz triple sec
  • 1 Tbsp grenadine
  • juice of 1/2 lime
  • 2 oz pineapple juice
  • 2 oz orange juice

Shake well, pour into glass, top with a dash (or a float, if you like) of dark rum. And do the Mai Tai dance.


Coconut Treat

Over ice in a short tumbler:

  • 1 shot coconut rum
  • 1 shot cranberry juice
  • fill with sprite or 7up

Mix well and chug.  I mean enjoy.

Okay and also if you are still reading, we made this flank steak for dinner the other night and it was really delicious.  I say that, having not eaten beef for 8 years, and just now coming back to it.  So you know it must be true.

Now it is raining on my computer so I have to stop.  Internet access only available on our lanai.  Yes, it is raining in paradise.  But I’m still wearing a sundress and I’m too warm.  So there.

Leave a Reply

