Sweet Potato Fries

I sprained my ankle yesterday.  If you know me, you know that this is almost a semi-annual event for me.  It used to be that my sprained ankles always came with a story related to playing soccer, since I’ve played practically my entire life.  I still play, but oddly, in the last few years, none of my sprained ankles were soccer injuries (probably because I always wear an ankle brace now).

No, now I sprain my ankle stepping on rocks.  Hiking in Glacier National Park, stepped on a big rock and *crack* there goes the ankle.  Jogging in the dark one morning, stepped on a tiny little rock and *crack* there goes the ankle.  And yesterday – yesterday I got out of my car on the way to a breakfast meeting, took one step around the car toward the sidewalk, and yes, oh yes, I stepped on that rock that was lying in wait for me.  And CRACK went the ankle, leaving me sprawled on the curb, grimacing in pain.

I’ve gotten so used to ankle sprains that I actually brushed myself off and limped on in to the restaurant, where I claimed a table and asked the waitress for advil (she also brought me an ice pack, what a lovely lady!) – and then proceeded on through my breakfast meeting.  Why not?

But now I’m all cooped up on my couch, ankle in the air, thinking good, healing thoughts and wishing I had some good comfort food within reach (I didn’t go grocery shopping before the ankle incident, blast it.)  Comfort food like these super yummy Sweet Potato Fries that I made last week, yum!  Call them Yam Fries if you must, they are equally good made with either one of the tuber types.  The plate shown above was made from a single medium sized yam, and I added a side of Buttermilk Horseradish dipping sauce (just like the dressing, only more sour cream and less buttermilk).  I spiced my fries with merquen, which is a South American spice blend that has a peppery, smoky flavor – I use it on everything from eggs to chicken.  I love it so much that I special order it, since I can’t find it locally.  Maybe I’ll do a whole post just on merquen sometime.  But back to the fries – you can use any mix of spices you like, since almost anything will play well off of the sweet taste of the potato (or yam).  And – step back – these things are actually pretty darn healthy for you!  My work here is done.  Now back to healing.

Sweet Potato Fries

  • 1 medium sweet potato or yam
  • olive oil
  • salt
  • pepper, garlic powder, other seasonings of your choice

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.  Peel sweet potato (or leave peel on if you prefer) and cut into match-stick sized pieces.  Place in a bowl and drizzle with about 1 teaspoon olive oil.  Toss until all the pieces are lightly coated.  Add a pinch of salt and other seasonings as you like, and toss again until the seasonings are evenly distributed.  Spread in an even layer on a baking sheet covered with parchment paper or a silpat baking mat.  Bake for about 20 minutes, or until the pieces are tender and starting to brown.  Broil for 2-3 minutes to give a crispier finish.  Serves 2 to 4 as a snack, depending on how piggy you are.  Mine served only me, but I felt bad afterward.

2 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Fries

  1. Thank you for this recipe and directions! I just bought a bag of sweet potato fries at Costco and when I got home I realized they were coated in wheat which is a tiny problem since I have celiac disease and wheat, barley and rye are poison to me! Boo. Now I know how to make them myself which I’m sure is cheaper anyway.

    =)

  2. YUM!!! Sweet potato fries are my FAVORITE and definitely a comfort food that I will eat a plate of if placed in front of me. These look delish! Sorry you sprained your ankle – total bummer. I’ve been wanting to get to Glacier National Park for a while so when I do I’ll be sure to look out for giant rocks that lure ankle injuries!

Leave a Reply

