Chocolate Peanut Butter Banana Muffins

So, I went straight from The Blahs into a full-on winter cold.  Which feels ironic, since we’ve been experiencing what I call “Fake Spring” here in the Pacific Northwest–unseasonably warm temperatures, a suspicious lack of water falling from the sky, and *gasp* sunshine.  And since I haven’t been sick, really for real sick, in more than two years, I’m being a big baby about it.  A BIG WHINING BABY.  I am sitting on the couch all day, sniffling and moaning and blowing my nose.  Fortunately, the only witnesses are the dog and the cat, and they ain’t talkin’.

The above description may be a slight exaggeration–you’ll never know the truth for sure–but here’s something that is complete truth and not at all an exaggeration–when one is attacked by The Blahs and assaulted by The Winter Cold, one only needs to turn to Sugar Plum for something sweet and delicious to make it all better.

I went with her Chocolate Peanut Butter Banana Bread recipe, and muffin-ized it to make it portable.  As in, easy to carry in to the camping spot on the couch, where the muffin liner comes in handy to catch the crumbs.  OH, and I also sprinkled some peanut butter granola on top of each muffin before they went in the oven, because it was right there on the counter when I was baking.  Crunchy yummy-ness.

I won’t regurgitate the recipe, because that would deny you the awesomeness that is Sugar Plum, so click on the recipe name above to get to her recipe.  I used standard muffin tins lined with paper cups, around 18 muffins total, depending on how full you fill the tins, and baked them for 15 to 20 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in the center of a muffin came out with just a few moist crumbs attached.  Well, in theory I did that.  In real life, I was cranky and annoyed and I overbaked them a bit.  In full disclosure, I also forgot to buy the peanut butter chips (do NOT do that), and then I forgot to stir in the chocolate chips so I just dropped a few on top of each muffin (EVEN WORSE), and, well, I also was too lazy to measure my flour carefully so probably I added too much, and that made the muffins a bit dry.  And I also gave up after filling 12 tins (when I figured out I forgot the chocolate chips) and just dumped the rest in a small round pan.

Yay, me.  Sniff.  Now back to your regularly scheduled (and hopefully more upbeat) programming.

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Peanut Butter Banana Muffins

  1. Came over here through Abby’s link.
    Poor you!
    I went through all of that last week…the BLAHHs and then full blown cold…
    These look YUM and sound pretty easy to make…if only I had some right now to go with my Tea.
    Have a better day…and get well soon!
    Char

Leave a Reply

