The Blahs, and Grecian Baked Shrimp

It’s true, I’m suffering from the January Blahs.  Every year I think I will avoid it, and every year I fail.  January is just such a DOWNER!  I’m always worn out from the insane pace of life over the holidays, the working 12+ hour days 7 days a week for a month or more, the social engagements and holiday meals and family stuff and then . . . boom, it’s January and everything comes to a crashing halt.  And then since I’m not busy, I get all wrapped up in “starting fresh” and suddenly I’m obsessing about eating less and drinking less and exercising more and and and . . . phew.  That, and the usual January weather here in the Pacific Northwest (gray, drippy, and very few hours of daylight), and what do you know . . . The Blahs.  Am I alone in this?  Tell me I’m not alone.  *tap tap, is this thing on?*

I’m trying to snap out of it, I am.  I did a little baking this afternoon, finally, for the first time in a couple weeks.  I’ll share that one with you soon.  But for today, I have something that fits with the “blah” theme.  That is, I bet you might think this recipe sounds a little blah, but it’s not, I tell you, it’s really not blah!  It’s buttery, yummy, fresh, and flavorful enough that you can’t quite call it “light”, even though calorie and fat-wise, it’s not half bad.  Also, the picture (above) is definitely blah, my apologies for that, I just couldn’t muster up the energy and creativity to do a better job. I’ll work on the attitude, really I will.

I have no idea where this recipe came from, it was something my husband was already making when I met him.  Aren’t you jealous?  I married a guy who could cook a fabulous shrimp dish when he was a 24 year old bachelor in grad school!  High five.  Whatever.  Anyway, we’ve adjusted the recipe a bit since it’s original incarnation, doubling the tomatoes and upping the bread crumbs and dill, as well. Let me know if you’re familiar with this recipe, and where it came from.

We serve this over long grain or wild rice, and–surprisingly for shrimp–it’s just as good left over the next day!

Grecian Baked Shrimp

  • 3 Tbsp butter, divided
  • 1/3 cup bread crumbs (we use panko)
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • pinch salt
  • 1/2 tsp crushed hot red pepper (we usually add more)
  • 2 lbs bay shrimp, peeled and deveined (we use small shrimp or shrimp meat, cooked is fine)
  • 2 large garlic cloves, minced
  • 2/3 cup dry white wine
  • 4 to 5 medium tomatoes, seeded and diced
  • 3 oz crumbled feta cheese
  • 3 Tbsp minced fresh dill

Preheat oven to 375.  Melt 2 Tbsp butter in a large skillet over high heat.  Add bread crumbs and cook, stirring often, until crisp, 3 to 4 minutes.  Remove from pan and set aside.  Add remaining butter to same skillet along with olive oil, salt, and red pepper.  Cook over high heat until butter sizzles (don’t let it burn), then add shrimp and garlic and cook until shrimp is hot.  Stir in wine; boil 3 to 4 minutes.  Remove from heat and stir in tomatoes.  Transfer to a baking dish (if skillet is not oven safe), spread into an even layer.  Sprinkle feta, dill, and bread crumbs evenly over the top.  Bake just until bubbly 12 to 15 minutes.  Serve over long grain or wild rice.  Approximately 4 to 6 dinner sized servings.

3 thoughts on “The Blahs, and Grecian Baked Shrimp

  1. I was feeling quite blah today… Luckily the rain stopped for a bit and I was able to take a brisk evening walk up and down some great hills. Such a help! Walking in the fresh air is what almost always saves me (sometimes it’s an almond croissant). Hope your blahs subside soon. That nice big pan of deliciousness and a husband that originally brought it your way should be helpful.

Leave a Reply

