2010, Ready or Not!

Not?  Apparently not, seeing as it is January 8th and I’m just now getting around to posting my “hello, new year!” thoughts.  If I was more on top of  this blog thing, the date would be December 31st, and I’d be sitting here sipping a (spiked) hot cocoa while I pondered the year (and the decade!) gone by and looking forward to the fresh new days ahead.

But I have an excuse, I do.  I always have an excuse, my friends will confirm that for me.  My excuse is that by December 31st, I was holed up with friends on Lopez Island, in the San Juan Islands off the coast of Washington State.  No TV, no internet, and a sporadic cell signal–about as unplugged as I ever get!

Fortunately, there were cute babies to play with . . .

And three year olds eager to learn the proper stance for a football cheer . . .

And dogs that swim no matter how cold the water, or how steep the stairs, or how many ferries cruise by in the distance . . .

And a ridiculous amount of cheese and salami and cookies and chocolate and alcohol.  I feel a little sick thinking back, actually.

And the best part was that I was on that same island, with those same friends, ten years ago as we said goodbye to 1999 and hello to 2000.  There were no cute babies then, and no dog, and although the same man was with me, he was a new boyfriend and not a husband of 8 years.  My chocolate business, which so completely defines my life today, wasn’t even a glimmer in my eye.  And while there have been many ups and many downs of the years in between, I can honestly say that I am lucky, I am happy, and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

So, bring it, 2010!  I’m ready.  And I’ll start cooking again soon, I swear.

2 thoughts on “2010, Ready or Not!

Leave a Reply

