Harvest Cookies

harvest cookies

My oh my, how the time do fly!

That’s me with a southern accent, what do you think?  No?  It’s true, I’ve been to New Orleans once and Austin twice, and that’s the full extent of my contact with the south.  And none of that has anything to do with harvest cookies, except that lately I’ve been thinking in a southern accent (inexplicably), and oh, I did get one final harvest out of my garden last weekend, here it is:

tomatoes and peppersAnd I would be working hard on some sort of harvest soup or tomatillo sauce or something to make with this . . . except, well, my husband got all excited about making a huge batch of butternut squash soup tonight . . . and really, who am I to say no?  If you’re looking for a good recipe for a butternut squash soup, you really should check out the one in Caprial’s Soup & Sandwich cookbook–it has been our mainstay for years now. It’s called Fall Squash Soup with Chorizo and Cinnamon Croutons.  Seriously, chorizo AND croutons.  It has a wonderful rich taste without using any cream, you can have it with the spicy chorizo if you like that (which we do) or without if you don’t (crazy people), or substitute bacon or pancetta or your meat of choice if you like.  Whatever you do, you MUST make the cinnamon croutons.  Holey freaking yummy, Batman!!  I’ve been sneaking into the kitchen every few minutes for the last hour to snag some.  I’m going to get caught one of these times, and that will be trouble with a Capital T.

At any rate, seeing as I’ve been up to my eyeballs in chocolate the last week or two (Chocolate Advent Calendars, Chocolate Tarts, and testing Chocolate Fudge recipes, oh my), and seeing as my husband has the savory/healthy end of things covered, I decided it was time to give in to my cravings.

I’m talking Cookies, people.  And since it is almost Thanksgiving, let’s go ahead and put some pumpkin in there, and some candied ginger and walnuts, and call them Harvest Cookies.  I based these on a recipe for applesauce cookies, swapping out the applesauce for canned pumpkin, subbing in some quick oats for some of the flour, swapping brown sugar for superfine, changing around the spices and so on and so forth . . . and I must say, they are delightful.  Especially for breakfast.  Or a midnight snack.  Whichever comes sooner.

Posts may be fewer and farther between for the next few weeks, but hang with me, people!  My family’s sourdough recipe is coming up, and another family recipe for a dead simple chocolate cake that makes it’s own hot fudge sauce, and maybe even my new best-ever fudge recipe, which might just be too good to keep as a business secret.

All in good time . . . all in good time.

Harvest Cookies

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar (more if you like a sweeter cookie)
  • 1 cup canned pumpkin (not pumpkin pie mix) – about 1/2 of one 15oz can
  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup quick oats
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp cloves
  • 1/4 cup candied ginger, diced
  • 1/4 cup walnuts, toasted and chopped

Cream butter and brown sugar; mix in pumpkin.  Mix in flour, quick oats, and spices.  Fold in candied ginger and walnuts.  Scoop with 1/4 cup measure (spray the measure with baking spray first for easy release) onto a greased baking sheet, flatten slightly, and bake at 375 for 14-18 minutes, or until set but still soft when touched lightly.  Let cool for a few minutes on the baking sheet, then move to a wire rack to cool fully. Makes about 10 big, soft cookies.  These cookies taste even better the next day!

2 thoughts on “Harvest Cookies

  1. Wow everyone, it’s Thanksgiving Day! I’m happy with my extra day off, and I am planning to make something fun that’ll probably involve a bike ride and seeing something new in Prospect Heights I haven’t seen yet.
    You write something new at Thanksgiving?

Leave a Reply

