Chocolate Rum Cake

chocolate rum cake partial

I married into this recipe, how great is that?  I don’t know when it started, but the Liefeld family was making this cake for every birthday when I met them.  I love my family-in-law.

Besides being quick and easy (my two favorite things in a recipe, generally), this cake is also (a) delicious, (b) doesn’t need frosting, and (c) tastes even better on day two, if there is any left.  Oh, and versatile, I almost left out versatile!  The original recipe calls for rum, but I have also swapped out the rum for chocolate liqueur and cassis (black currant liqueur), left out the nuts, and tossed in some white chocolate chips with the semisweet.  I can also imagine it with a nice dark porter in place of the rum, some toasted walnuts and big chocolate chunks . . . or if you want something less alcohol-y, maybe some chai tea in place of the rum/liqueur.  Or, if you want something with a deeper chocolate flavor, use a chocolate cake mix instead of yellow cake.  Oh, so many yummy options.

Darn it, now I wish I hadn’t given away that last piece . . .

chocolate rum cake full

Oh, and in the spirit of “don’t do what I did”–which really deserves an entire series of posts from me–keep in mind that if you mix in a bunch of chocolate chips, they will fall to the bottom of the batter and may stick to the pan during baking.   Which means if you use a fancy pan, like I did, your cake will probably fall apart, like mine did.  Fortunately, this is a very moist cake and you can patch it right back together.  And then dust it with powdered sugar.  Just don’t look too close.  Really, it’s perfect.

Chocolate Rum Cake

  • 1 box yellow cake mix
  • 1 box instant chocolate pudding mix
  • 6 Tbsp rum
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup chopped nuts

Mix all ingredients except chocolate chips and nuts.  Beat on medium high speed for 5 minutes, until thick and glossy.  Mix in chocolate chips and nuts, or any other add-ins.  Pour into greased bundt cake pan, filling only 2/3 full (bake any extra batter in a separate pan).  Bake at 350 for approximately an hour, checking every 10 minutes after 30 minutes, until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

Leave a Reply

