Almond Shortbread Bars

almond butter shortbreadYou know what I really need?  I need a Brain Recorder.  Why can’t somebody invent that?  Seriously.

I have to tell you, when I’m laying in bed at night, verging on unconsciousness, I write the most amazing blog posts in my head.  You know, the kind that are smart and funny and interesting, and full of witty observations and all that.  Oh, and I come up with the greatest business ideas, too!  Unbelievable recipes, can’t-miss marketing schemes, you name it.

And then I wake up in the morning.  Poof.  Gone.

I need a Brain Recorder.

shortbread topped with modeling claySo.  These cookies were supposed to end up a bit differently.  I was going to top the shortbread bars with the chocolate modeling clay pieces I made a few days back, as you see above–but first I was going to dip the shortbread bars in chocolate.  Yummy.  This was my first crack at putting together the shortbread recipe, so I didn’t actually expect it to be quite right.  Which is why I thought the cookies would actually hang around long enough to be dipped in chocolate and topped with modeling clay.  Hah.

As it turned out, the shortbread bars were fabulously dee-lish on their own, and my husband and I demolished the entire batch before I could do much more than snap the two shots in this post.  Ah, well, these things happen.  Um, these things happen a lot in my house.  Shhhh, don’t tell my personal trainer.

Almond Shortbread Bars

For thicker bars, bake these in a 9×9 inch square pan and increase the baking time.  I wanted thin bars, so I lined a sheet pan with foil, started at one side and pressed the dough out to the thickness I wanted, and then folded the foil into a ridge along the side of the dough in the middle of the pan.  You could also top these with chopped almonds for a nice crunch, or sandwich them with jam or chocolate ganache, use them for an ice cream sandwich . . .

  • 2 sticks (1 cup) butter, softened
  • 8 oz almond paste
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 cups flour
  • large pinch salt

Preheat oven to 375.  Line a cookie sheet with foil and spray with baking spray.  Cream butter and almond paste until well blended, add salt and beat well.  Beat in sugar, then mix in flour just until blended.  Press the dough into a thin layer on foil lined cookie sheet, starting at one edge and pressing toward the center until you reach your desired thickness.  Fold up the foil to make a ridge along the edge of the dough in the center of the pan.  Bake for 10-12 minutes, or until edges are browned and center is set.

6 thoughts on “Almond Shortbread Bars

  1. I LOVE shortbread. This looks incredible!

    I’m the exact same way. My mind tends to come alive at night, and that’s why usually when I blog and bake. But then I end up staying up too late. 😦

  2. oh trufflesteph….
    I have found my new obsession….making molded shortbread and destiny (or whatever) brought me to this page! please tell me….one steph to another….how did you get the chocolate on top of your shortbread molded like that. I think I will go mad if I don’t know….they are divine and can’t wait to try your recipe this weekend. thanks for sharing! yummmmm!

    • Hi Stephanie! The chocolate on top of the shortbread is made from chocolate modeling clay, and molded using a springerle press. If you search the site you’ll find three posts on chocolate modeling clay, including a recipe–it’s really easy to work with and pretty darn tasty too! You can also google “springerle” and you’ll find lots of sources for the cookie presses like the one I used. Have fun! Steph

      • Thanks Steph,
        that helps…yes I did read about the modeling clay…that is something I will try as well…sounds delish and fun.

        I’m just hoping that I can get the clay to ‘stick’ to the already baked shortbreads right…..maybe if they are a little warm it will help. I sure don’t want my lovely part to come off in transport! haha! Your mold is fantastic!!! did you buy it online? looks sort of antique.
        all the best…so glad I found this site…such fun to find people with similar food obscessions!
        Steph

      • Oh! Sorry, left that detail out–you can attach the modeling chocolate pieces to the cookies either with a thin layer of buttercream or royal icing, or more simply with a few dabs of corn syrup. The mold I used was from Sur la Table, it is a big wooden square with lots of little rectangular designs on it–and I’m embarrassed to say it was REALLY expensive (don’t tell my husband). There are a couple of companies online that sell smaller, single design molds that are less expensive and just as beautiful–The House on the Hill is the one I can think of off the top of my head. The wooden molds are really beautiful, I keep mine out on display.

  3. Pingback: Almond Butter recipes Almond Butter

Leave a Reply

