Gazpacho–The Lazy Way

gazpachoA good friend of mine has an amazing recipe for gazpacho, which she has made for me several times, and which my husband has made at least once.  Me?  Not so much.  As mouth-watering as the gazpacho is–and it is, trust me–it requires things like blanching, peeling, seeding, and chopping all the tomatoes, and cubing good bread and soaking it in water and then pressing out all that water, and then pureeing things in batches and mixing things together and . . . do you see where I’m going with this?

You may or may not have noticed something of a theme on this here blog . . . let’s call it “quick and easy”.  That sounds so much nicer than “lazy”.  And really, for me the key is efficiency.  I spend enough time in the kitchen as it is with my chocolate business, so I don’t tend to linger there when it comes to home cooking.  Even though I love food, and actually, I love cooking.  Ah, conundrums.

cucumber tomato tomatillo

It’s August, so my garden is busting at the seams with tomatoes, and cucumbers, among other things–so gazpacho is a no brainer.  That is, Gazpacho, the Lazy Way.  No blanching or peeling of tomatoes, and in my case, no seeding of either tomato or cucumber.  I did peel the cucumber–I mean, I’m not that lazy!

Quick Gazpacho (adapted from Farmgirl Fare)

  • 2 medium cucumbers, peeled and cut into large chunks
  • 8 medium tomatoes, quartered (I used roma)
  • 1 medium white onion, peeled and cut into large chunks
  • 1 medium red bell pepper, cored and cut into large chunks
  • 3 cloves garlic, peeled
  • 1/4 cup white wine vinegar
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • large pinch kosher salt
  • sour cream or plain yogurt

Place cucumbers, tomatoes, onion, bell pepper and garlic in a blender or food processor and process until reduced to bite sized chunks (you may have to do this in two batches).  Add vinegar, oil, cumin, and salt and process to desired smoothness.  Refrigerate in an airtight container for several hours or overnight, to allow flavors to fully develop.  Serve chilled, topped with sour cream or plain yogurt.  Croutons are also a delightful topper!  Makes about four large (dinner-sized) servings.

One thought on “Gazpacho–The Lazy Way

Leave a Reply

