Buttermilk Horseradish Dressing

buttermilk horseradish closeup

It was 106 degrees here yesterday.  Let me say that again:  ONE HUNDRED AND SIX DEGREES.  It was 102 the day before that, and 100 the day before that, and it is supposed to be 100 again today.

People, I live in Portland, Oregon!  Home of perpetually gray skies and rain!  I am not mentally or physically prepared for this.  And it certainly is curtailing my will to make any sort of food involving heat.  You know, like cooking or baking.  Or standing upright at the stove.  Really, all I want to do is lay in front of the fan with a very large gin & tonic, and a sippy straw.  Join me?

buttermilk horseradish trio

All complaining aside, I have managed to make one thing this week–and this one thing just might sustain me until the ridiculous weather turns more reasonable.  It’s light, it’s cool, it’s refreshing, it has a nice kick of spicy flavor, and it takes hardly any time or effort to throw together.  Especially when using a pre-washed salad mix, which I definitely do.  My favorite combo with this dressing is butter lettuce, but really you can use any type of lettuce you like.  I’ve also tossed in some sliced mushrooms and topped the whole thing with sliced boiled egg, or, instead of the egg, with garbanzo beans (chickpeas) tossed with a bit of lemon juice and parmesan, to turn the whole thing into a meal.

This dressing was inspired by the one served at my favorite local restaurant (local meaning 1/2 a block away!) Bernie’s Southern Bistro.

Stay cool, wherever you may be!

Buttermilk Horseradish Dressing

  • buttermilk
  • mayonnaise
  • creamy prepared horseradish

I use a simple ratio for this–equal parts buttermilk and mayo, and then horseradish to taste.  Generally I use about 2 Tbsp buttermilk, 2 Tbsp mayo, and about a teaspoon horseradish.  Use more buttermilk if you like a thinner dressing, more or less horseradish depending on your preference for spiciness.  Also, you can swap out the mayo and use sour cream, and, you can turn this into a dip simply by using a lot more of the mayo/sour cream and less buttermilk.  Delightful with deep fried chicken strips.  Not that I eat that kind of thing.  Very often.

One thought on “Buttermilk Horseradish Dressing

  1. Pingback: Sweet Potato Fries « Chocolate & Toast

Leave a Reply

