Medora!

medora map

What is it about vacation that it takes twice as much time to get ready for your trip, and then twice as much time to recover from the trip, then the time actually spent vacationing?  Have you noticed this phenomenon?  I was only physically away for 6.5 days–and I had my phone and laptop with me(!)–but I feel like I am digging out from under a mountain, and all I have is a sad little bent teaspoon.  Ah, well.

I figure I can at least leave you a few fun pics from my trip to North Dakota–which now I will always say in my head as “The Great State of North Dakota”, as the natives do–since I won’t have a new recipe up till next week, most likely.

Medora, North Dakota, is a tiny little adorable tourist town, mostly run by the Gold Seal Company (Mr. Bubble?).  It has a rich history involving French aristocrats and our own Teddy Roosevelt, and is located in the stunning landscape of the North Dakota Badlands.  Teddy Roosevelt National Park is immediately adjacent to the town, and that is where all of my wildlife pictures were taken.  The Little Missouri River runs through town, and carves a beautiful valley where the new-ish golf course, Bully Pulpit, mingles with a working ranch and the remains of the summer bible camp that my father-in-law used to run, back in the late 70’s.  The new bible camp spreads across a much larger property, a bit further downriver.  It’s a little funny for me to call it a “bible” camp, because my father-in-law, a retired Lutheran pastor, is not a bible thumping type.  But he’s definitely a summer camp type.

At any rate, I was there in Medora with my in-laws, hearing lots of stories about the five years they lived and breathed Medora, meeting many of the wonderful people I have been hearing about for years, and drinking in the beauty of the place.  My husband was able to join us for a day and a half, better than nothing, but hardly enough time for him to relive the memories of his formative years.  He did at least get to join us for Pitchfork Fondue–that’s right, steaks threaded on a pitchfork and then cooked in a huge vat of hot oil–which I actually liked.  I didn’t get a picture of that one, but if you click through to the Medora website, you’ll see it.  And we went to the Medora Musical, which is such a driving force in the town that it feels like it should always be said as if followed by an exclamation point.  It’s a little bit patriotic, a little bit religious, a whole lot hokey, but a pretty fun piece of entertainment, set in a beautiful ampitheater with some pretty decent stage sets and props.  The “props” included elk wandering around the hillside across from the ampitheater seats before the show started, how great is that?

So, I went, I saw, I ate, I drank, and now I’m back and that mountain is calling me, I’m off to find my teaspoon.  Hope you enjoy the pics.

The Badlands

The Badlands

medora stage edited

Medora Musical set

Little Missouri River

Little Missouri River

Golfing the Badlands

Golfing the Badlands

Mighty Buffalo

Mighty Buffalo

Wild Pony Playtime

Wild Pony Playtime

Mascots of the Park

Mascots of the Park

Pet Rock

Pet Rock

Leave a Reply

