Peanut Fanatic

feridies peanut can

Ahhh, sorry, out of town and (gasp) without much of an internet connection for the last 6 days.  But more about that later.  Right now, I need to tell you something.  I am a peanut fanatic.  Born and bred, from a long line of peanut–and more importantly, peanut butter–fanatics.  Some of my earliest memories are of my grandfather spreading peanut butter on his slice of ice cream . . . yes, slice, because he would always open up the rectangular carton of ice cream and cut it into slices.  An engineer at heart.  And my dad, melting a combination of peanut butter and butter, to pour over freshly popped popcorn before our family TV nights (Battlestar Gallactica, anyone?).  Just the memory makes my mouth water.

We spread peanut butter on our pancakes and french toast, before adding syrup.  We always chose the peanut butter milkshake at the ice cream place in the summer, and peanut butter pie–oh my–with a thick layer of whipped cream topping was always a favorite dessert.  And peanuts, oh peanuts we ate by the fistful.

As an adult, my peanut intake has slowed down . . . a bit.  I eat fewer pancakes and not so much ice cream, popcorn very rarely.  I don’t keep the plain old nuts around, well, because I EAT THEM!  As it is, I find it hard to keep my spoon out of the peanut butter jar.  But my dad continues to fuel the fire–the can you see above was the last of a box of TWELVE that he and my stepmother had shipped to my home recently, as a fun, out of the blue, gift.  Not the first time.  One previous shipment included Choco-Covered Peanut Brittle from Feridies, and that caused marital strife–my husband and I fought over each and every cluster, stuffing our faces and acting ridiculous.  Luckily, this shipment was all Garlic Peanuts.  My husband is somewhat neutral over the garlic flavor–while me and mine all put garlic as a close second to peanuts in flavor favorites, and the two together, ohhhhh–so I made it easy on him and put all the cans on the top, far back shelf of the corner cabinet.  You know, so he didn’t have to worry about them.

And now they are gone.

Check out Feridies super yummy peanut products here.  You know you want to.

One thought on “Peanut Fanatic

Leave a Reply

