Mint Infused Simple Syrup

mint plant

It’s Friday, it’s been a crazy busy chaotic stressful week, I really want to bake something but I just. can’t. doit.  But I have to make something.  And then there it was, right in front of me.  The Mint Plant.  Already completely filling it’s tiny container, just begging to be plucked and crushed and used.  Did that sound dirty?  Sorry.  Anyway, between the thoughts of use the mint and god I really need a cocktail and ugh I’m too tired to do anything complicated somehow my poor little brain found the words simple syrup.  Ayecaramba!

Really, it was meant to be.  I mean, it’s simple (!), it involves sugar, and it can be used in oh so many things–such as, say, a Mojito cocktail!  And since I was thinking Mojito anyway, why not just go ahead and toss the mint into the simple syrup, rather than crushing it into the cocktail? Also this fits with my laziness, no need to do anything more than splash some rum and the syrup and a little tonic water together, makes for easy refills with no muss and no fuss.  You see where my brain is today, yes?

But there is no need to limit your use of this to a cocktail–it would be equally fabulous in lemonade, or as a sweetener for ice tea.  Or go crazy and boil it down to a thicker syrup and toss it with some fresh fruit for a tart.  I’m also tempted to try it out for making candied citrus peel (with a mint twist), but I think that will wait till fall.  No need to rush these things.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have a date with a tall, cold cocktail.  Too bad the sun isn’t out . . . but maybe I’ll sit on the deck in the rain anyway. . .

Mint Infused Simple Syrup

You can use any amount of sugar and water for this, depending on how much syrup you want to end up with–just use equal parts (1 cup sugar to 1 cup water, etc.).  I like to make a lot of it at once.  Leaving the mint leaves on the stem makes it easier to remove them after steeping.

  • 2 cups water
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 3 stems mint, leaves attached

Bring the sugar and water to a boil in a saucepan.  Boil long enough to dissolve all the sugar (longer if you want a thicker syrup).  Remove from heat and allow to cool slightly.  Gently crush mint between your fingers and stir into syrup, leaving the leaves attached to the stems.  Allow to steep for 10 minutes or more, to taste.  When the syrup reaches the flavor you like, remove the mint stems and leaves, and store the syrup in an air tight container.

Mojito Cocktail

  • 1 shot light rum
  • 2 Tbsp mint infused simple syrup
  • club soda or tonic water
  • squeeze of lime juice
  • mint leaves, if you want

If using mint leaves, muddle them in the bottom of a glass with a squeeze of lime juice.  Add ice, then the simple syrup and rum, then fill with club soda or tonic water.  Mix and enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Mint Infused Simple Syrup

  1. Pingback: So long, Mint. « Chocolate & Toast

Leave a Reply

