This is White Chocolate. Carmelized.

carmelized white choc

I’ll admit it, I’m generally not much of a white chocolate fan.  That’s not to say I won’t eat it–I do have a chocolate business, after all!  And I certainly would never turn down a white chocolate macadamia nut cookie.  Ever.

But this . . . . oh, my . . . this incredible concoction that isn’t even a concoction, because that would imply that there are multiple ingredients, and really it is just white chocolate . . . this brings me to a place where my brain stops processing and my fingers stop typing and I’m licking the spoon and the bowl and the baking pan and, well, are there decency ratings for blogs?  I should probably stop now.

So.  The picture above, yes indeedy, that is white chocolate.  Like you have never experienced it before.  It’s like the good friend that you had in grade school, the one you didn’t see all summer, but then when you went back to school there she was and WOW, suddenly you missed her and you couldn’t believe you’d gone months without spending every second glued to her side. Let’s not skip ahead to the part where she stabs you in the back and starts rumors about you . . . that part comes much, much later.  Let’s just go with the happy part, the part where you are inseparable and just so happy, yes?

I made a small-ish batch of this to start, just to see what it would be like, almost entirely because I was looking for something else to do with my white chocolate “rejects” from my business.  One of my top selling chocolates is a chocolate tile–a square piece of solid chocolate with a beautiful cocoa butter design on it.  Some of the tiles end up chipped or the designs don’t come out perfectly, so I’m left with white chocolate that can’t be melted down and used again (due to the colors in the design, which dull the color of the chocolate)–and as it turns out, they are perfect for this!

I shouldn’t be surprised to be so quickly and completely infatuated with this idea, after all, it comes from my hero, the master, the man who is all but responsible for where I am today (ahem, I do love melodrama)–David Lebovitz.

You can find David’s instructions and notes here, as well as a few more pictures than I’m posting.  Let me just say that I didn’t take any “in process” pictures because really, it is not the most attractive food product in its in between stages.

Carmelized White Chocolate (from David Lebovitz)

This isn’t a recipe, as David notes, but really just a process.

Coarsely chop approximately 12 ounces white chocolate (the higher the cocoa butter content, the better).  Spread evenly on a baking sheet and place in a 250 degree oven.  Stir every 10 minutes for about an hour, or until the chocolate looks very much like natural peanut butter.  Add a pinch of coarse sea salt and blend with an immersion blender or in a food processor till smooth.

I drizzled some of this, still warm, over a bowl of vanilla ice cream and grilled pineapple, and it was delicious.  I think it would also be fabulous with some not-too-sweet shortbread cookies.  Mostly I just ate it straight out of the container.  My husband also wolfed down his share, even after he scoffed at me for messing around with white chocolate.  Hah.

Leave a Reply

