Albuquerque, and a birdie update

mesa view

My husband and I flew off to Albuquerque, New Mexico, last week to visit my brother and to meet my new sister-in-law (they were elopers, just like us!).  I had been to that area once before, but it was all new to my husband, and a lot of fun to enjoy together.  There’s just something about the desert landscape and warm dry climate that just says “vacation” to me!  Not to mention the margaritas and chips and salsa . . . yum, yum, yum.  Do you know the Great Chile Debate of New Mexico?  The one that requires the question “green or red?” as a part of every single food order you place?  The one where there is no single answer to the question “which is hotter?”.  If you don’t know, you must go experience it yourself.

cactus flower

cactus flower

I’ll admit, I didn’t take any actual pictures of food while we were there.  We didn’t have any spectacular meals–but for me, anything involving tortillas and beans and layers of cheese and chilies (red, green, and christmas) are just plain good, no complaints!  But the absolute highlight of the trip was the B&B we stayed at, located in the village of Corrales, just northwest of Albuquerque proper.  Called The Chocolate Turtle, it is adorable and wonderful and peaceful and they leave a plate of fresh baked cookies out for you every night.  I heart them very much.  There are quail and bunnies and a roadrunner(!) living on the property, it was like watching the Nature Channel every morning while sipping coffee on the back patio in the garden.  And the owner/operators are fabulous people, I think we almost spent more time chatting with them than we did visiting with my family (oops).  Did I mention the fresh baked cookies?

So, just a few pictures to leave you with from my favorite parts of the trip (other than the cookies)–and some very good news, too!  While we were gone, our birdie came back!  Or perhaps another bird took possession of the nest?  It’s hard to know for sure, but either way, I’m very happy to see a sweet little robin’s eye peeking back at me from behind the grape leaves again.  I don’t know if there are any eggs in the nest, but I’m going to keep my distance and hope all goes well for the little mama.

hiking the slot canyons at Tent Rocks

hiking the slot canyons at Tent Rocks

I love this town

I love this town

Acoma Pueblo, 370 feet up

Acoma Pueblo, 370 feet up

storm over pueblo

storm over pueblo

kiva ladders

kiva ladders

mission dog

mission dog

climbing down the ancient path

climbing down the ancient path

wild horses

wild horses

Leave a Reply

