CSA update, and Bacon Kale Mushroom Quiche

bacon-kale-mushroom-quiche

There has been a CSA setback in our household.  As I posted earlier, I was very excited to sign up for a CSA (community supported agriculture) share, to start eating some seriously good local produce.  Well, not so much–at least not on the first try.  I deleted the name of the company from my previous post, just in case my experience was a major anomaly for them.  I really hope it was.

It started with seriously bad communication and a complete lack of customer service.  It ended with the actual CSA box, which contained what I found to be an odd assortment of items and quantities, at least for our two person household–three large bunches of greens, plus an additional large container of sprouted mixed greens, three very small beets, four small potatoes, a brown lunch bag full of mushrooms (two kinds), three green onions, one loaf vegan bread, and 12 apples.  I can’t be any more specific about the types of things included, because almost nothing was labeled.  No list or information or recipe ideas included.

What does one do with three small beets, I wonder?  Or three green onions?  How does a small household consume a large sack of mushrooms, much less 4 large bunches of salad greens, before they go bad?  I mean, I like salad and all, but I don’t eat it three times a day!

As it turned out, it didn’t matter, because the greens were already wilting as I pulled them out of the box, and were completely slimy by the next morning.  The potatoes were sprouting.  The mushrooms were slimy and the beets were moldy the next day.  And every single apple–every single one–had at least one good sized bruise.

At least the loaf of vegan bread was good.

So, we’re going to take a little break from the CSA thing, and then try again with a different grower.  I just have to wait until my husband forgets that we spent $40 and two weeks of calls and emails on a box of food that, when it finally showed up, went bad immediately.  Fabulous.

In the meantime, here’s a yummy quiche I threw together, which includes a couple mushrooms and one potato that I salvaged from the CSA box.  Quiche is awesome, you can toss in just about anything, add or subtract cheese, go with crust or without, and eat it for any meal.  I was so hungry when I was prepping the filling, I tossed some of it in a little bowl and had it as a snack.  Yum!

quiche-trio

Bacon Kale Mushroom Quiche

  • 1 Tbs olive oil
  • 1 clove garlic, minced or pressed
  • 1 medium potato, sliced thin
  • 1 cup sliced mushrooms
  • 3 slices pepper bacon
  • 1 head kale, coarsely chopped
  • 4 eggs
  • 1-1/2 cups milk (swap out some for cream if you like)
  • 1/2 cup cheese, more or less (I used colby/monterey jack and parmesan)
  • salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 375.  Heat the olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat.  Add garlic and saute one minute.  Add mushrooms and potatoes, season with salt and pepper to taste; saute until potatoes are cooked through, approximately 8 minutes.  Transfer mushrooms and potatoes to a large pie plate.

Add bacon to hot skillet and cook until crisp.  Drain on paper towel.  Remove almost all the bacon grease from the skillet.  Wash kale, chop coarsely, and add it to the hot skillet while it still has some water on it.  Season with salt and pepper.  Toss quickly over medium heat until tender, approximately 5 minutes.  Add kale to the mushrooms and potatoes in the pie plate.  Crumble bacon over the top of the mixture.

Lightly beat eggs and milk; pour over mixture in pie plate.  Top with grated cheese.  Bake approximately 25 minutes, until completely set and lightly browned on top.  Serve warm or cold.

3 thoughts on “CSA update, and Bacon Kale Mushroom Quiche

  1. Pingback: CSA! « Chocolate & Toast

  2. I’m sorry to hear about your CSA experience. We tried it this summer for the first time and we liked http://www.sungoldfarm.com

    However, we will not be signing up again next year for other reasons such as I don’t have time to cook from scratch all week so some end up going to waste. I also want to be able to pick what I feel like eating not whatever comes in the basket. We are also a household of two.

Leave a Reply

