Hummus Love and Pita Chips

hummus

I love hummus.  This is a fairly new development.  For years, I would nibble at store-bought hummus, always wanting to like it, but never really able to get past the thick, pastey, gloppiness of it all.  That all changed for me when I started reading food blogs, and clicked on Confections of a Foodie Bride on just the right day.  Click over, search the site for “hummus”, and you’ll get not just one, but four recipes–each yummier than the last, from original to restaurant-style (my favorite), to black bean to olive.  And don’t just hang out in hummus land, because there is a lot more to drool over (Bacon and Bleu Cheese Cake!).  I heart Foodie Bride!

Hummus really is the perfect food–it’s great on pita, rustic bread, tortilla chips, various veggies, in a sandwich, on a bagel, with falafel . . . you name it!  And even better, it is really good for you!  Now I can whip up my own batch for pennies, tweak it to my own tastes, and stuff myself with abandon.  Maybe I need to spend less time stuffing myself and more time making actual labels for my spice jars . . . hmmm.

small-tool-trio

I hate to post without adding an actual recipe, so I’ll toss in something very simple, and very tasty–Pita Chips!  If you are hooked on Stacey’s (or any other national brand), try making your own.  So much better!

Baked Pita Chips

  • pita bread, any kind
  • baking spray (I use Pam)
  • ground cumin
  • garlic powder
  • kosher salt

Cut pita bread into wedges and separate the two layers.  Spread wedges in a single layer on a baking pan lined with parchment or a silpat mat.  Spray each piece with baking spray (or brush with olive oil).  Sprinkle with cumin, garlic and salt.  Broil until golden and crisp, 2 to 4 minutes.  Best enjoyed immediately, scooped into a fresh batch of your favorite homemade hummus!

Leave a Reply

